I took a "Film and Social Justice" class last term and learned some really remarkable (and liberal oriented) affects of corporate America on the rest of the world. Predictably, it was possibly one of the most depressing classes I've ever taken. Almost 90% of what I learned in that class was proven right after working for Levis. I won't rant about it, but I will say that the iconic image they attempt to represent is supposed to be "all-American" or "American Classic", yet absolutely nothing they carry is made in America. And we all know where they're importing it from.
This is not to say that I did not enjoy working their for a bit. My co-workers were totally awesome, so I'm going to miss that. But I knew it was time to go when I realized how unhappy the job actually made me feel. Simply being pressured to sell people things they don't need.....ahh
Haha, ok, now that that's out of my system.....it's finally finals week! I'm so so so close to being done with this terrible quarter! And the great news is, I did much better than I thought I was going to. I'm not sure what my final grades are, but I'm really not worried about it.
After Thursday, I will have a month and half off before Australia. No work. No school. I honestly can't imagine how that must feel, haha. I'm going to be so extremely sad if I have to move back to Agoura for the month of January to save rent money. I have this incredible fantasy of spending all my time at the Central Library in Portland, and finally putting my climbing shoes to use at the Rec Center, and camping, and focusing on yoga and meeting incredible people. See, now I'm smiling. And thinking of moving back to Agoura makes me cringe. I guess you could say I have a life in Portland now? aw yay
Speaking of which, last night I decided what I want to be when I grow up. It's funny because I knew all along, but I got side-tracked with the whole idea of wanting to make a lot of money after I graduate. I guess it took quitting Levi's to realize the importance of passion in a career. So, I'm really happy to say that I just want to teach after I graduate. I've got about a year to prepare, which isn't much time, and then I'll get my credentials. Yay for finally choosing something and sticking with it. The thought of teaching makes me smile, too. Then I can stay in Portland if I really want to :)
I still plan to make it to Buenos Aires one day....
